At The Fab, Paint Can Top Anything…

Love this time of year – the berry sprigs, pine needles, and snow tipped branches packed away, and blooming flowers take their place.  I arranged these pretty stems in a burlap container that I stenciled using our Postage Stamp Stencil and Caromal Colours Stencil Creme Mother Earth

Fabulous_finishes_painted_burlap_pots

This black metal vase turned patina easily, dragging Botanical Paint Aster, Moss and a little Gardenia.  No topcoat is required, as the Botanical Paints will stay put once dry,  but the finish will be chalky flat –  Fabulous_finishes_painted_chalk_clay_urn

A barn door was already crackled, easily achieved using Cottage Paint’s Easy Crackle and Cottage Wonderous White,  or Elmers Glue and American Paint Company Navajo White.  I added a stamp stencil using Caromal Colours Stencil Creme Mother Earth

Fabulous_finishes_painted_door_stamp

This frame, originally teal and zebra,  changed it’s look using Reclaim Nantucket Blue.  I applied a dimensional FISH BONES stencil using Texture Plaster, and stenciled a metallic crown, decorating it with Swarovski Crystals. Did I mention we’ll be adding those to our online store this week?  I found a fun lady-catches-big-fish picture to display, knowing it would appeal to one of our many cottage/boater customers.    It wasn’t around long…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_fish_frame

This basket is original – a weave of grapevine and moss…  it holds plaster ornaments that I gilded, using several variegated patterns of leaf.   If gilding interests you, take a peak at our online video from Shelby TV Episode 1

Fabulous_finishes_painted_gilded_ornaments

I acquired this pair of ‘fruit art’ from an estate sale.  They were horribly gaudy – painted goldish plastic resin.  I painted them with Caromal Textured Basecoat Candy Apple Red, to give them some ‘uummph’ ,  and then topped that with Reclaim Black Licorice.   I painted the fruit and leaves with Modern Masters Metal Effects Bronze and Copper, (arriving online soon), and then oxidized the metal paint using their Green and Blue Patina Aging Solution (arriving online soon).  Lastly, I applied Caromal’s Antiquing Toner

Fabulous_finishes_painted_plaster_fruit

Not something you see often…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_plaster_fruit_grapes

We had several decorative wooden balls in house, in a state of boring brown… I dry brushed them with Botanical Aster, and dry brushed the vintage chair spring with APC Navajo White.  These springs are so fun,  I can’t believe they were an integral chair part of past…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_balls

Smaller shelf units, wooden stools, ladders, make great items to decorate with paint, and then display fun wares…  this one was painted with Caromal Textured Basecoat Pumpkin, Botanical Aster, and then stenciled with Caromal Stencil Creme Mother Earth.  

It already has found a new home 🙂

With the nicer weather comes that crazy  hot, afternoon sun, beating in the front windows…  the UV film doesn’t cut the mustard.   We brainstormed about mounting drape panels on the big windows that flank the door – we could swag them to one side until its SUN BLAST time, then let them down. Gonna try that.

But what about the small window over the door?     I used one of our repeat medallion stencils (see the four parts?), and a plastic gift card to apply, via scraping/blading, Caromal Textured Basecoat Peppercorn

Fabulous_finishes_paint_stencil_medallion_dimension_glass

and from the outside…

Fabulous_finishes_paint_stenciled_glass_window_medallion

Which takes me to these pretty young things… This year’s door greeters –

Fabulous_finishes_paint_store_entry_detroit

I had these 2 urn planters from several Christmases ago.  Originally, they were single, prelit, pine ball topiary’s, in a resin urn.   That first year was a huge disappointment – the cords submerged in water, then froze over,  so you couldn’t even get to the wires to fix them.    I brought them to the store after Christmas, plucked the bad stuff out, and used them as decorative store displays…

pine_urn_planter_fall_decor

They took up a lot of room though, and I wanted outdoor planters, so I decided to go BIG on these planters…

I found fake ‘tall boxwood topiary’s ‘ at Big Lot, and inserted them into the original pine balls,  making sure they were secure.   Then I went to work adding various flowers and foliage to each base.

Fabulous_finishes_paint_textured_outside_pots_caromal

The paint finish on the urns looked worn – I refreshed it using Caromal Textured Basecoat Paprika, dry brushed Cottage Paint Bold Black, sprayed on gold Webbing veins, then gave it a coating of Caromal Toner.  Once good and dry I applied a coat of Reclaim Indoor/Outdoor Sealer, since they will be outside.

Fabulous_finishes_paintedpots

The tops needed some whimsy,  I added wood twigs, and green sprigs, and bird nests, and bows… even a few little crystal thinga-majigs on wire…

Fabulous_finishes_studio_topary

Aren’t they fun?

Fabulous_finishes_painted_store_topary

The before frame

Fabulous_finishes_frame_art_before_painting_chalk

I used a similar process that I did, up above, on those resin fruit frames – oxidizing metal paint with a blue and green patina.  It blended so perfect with the photo…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_verdegris_framed_art

Naturally old world worn looking…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_verdegris_art_frame

Another frame I painted, this original was black – I dry brushed it with Caromal Textured Basecoat Putty, Botanical Willow,  and Gardenia and decorated the inside with an Aged Paper Receipt

Fabulous_finishes_painted_restoration_hardware_frame

Different paints, different textures, different results… use them on their own, or mix them together like I did here –

Fabulous_finishes_painted_restoration_hardware

This metal stand was raw bright tin colored.  I painted it Cottage Paint Gorgeous Grey (one of our custom colors), then stenciled it with Caromal Stencil Creme Winterberry

Fabulous_finishes_painted_stencil

Stenciling more burlap containers…

Fabulous_finishes_painted_stenciled_burlap

Stenciling a stuffed mannequin,  painting tin tags…   both seem to come alive with paint –

Fabulous_finishes_painted_tin_tags

This original vase was one of my own – a glossy greenish ceramic vase,  now vintage white, and home to a lovely bird house…

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0218

Our goal is to get you thinking outside the box… color outside the lines

If you are local to Metro Detoit, , join us in store -we are open Tuesday through Saturday.  If you are residents of Shelby Township or Utica you can watch us on cable TV – check Shelby TV for broadcast times, otherwise, anyone can find us on Youtube – search for Shelby DIY, and watch the DIY shows from there.

This week we’ll be busy wrapping up this dining set, for a customer – from wood to a soft black –  it’s getting a lot of looks from our in store customers…

Reclaim Licorice Black

Reclaim Licorice Black

I just finished this one, part of a Dixie set I acquired several years ago.  I’ve been saving this one, not sure for what – maybe for just the right time…

I love the top – what was once formica is now a pretty wood grain-

dixie_chest_custom_paint_creme

Excellent storage, once more, a piece I’d love to take homedixie_chest_custom_painted_chalk_wood_grain

dixie_chest_painted_custom_chalk

And lastly, a shout out to our daughter, who celebrated her 18th birthday this weekend

julia_eighteen_birthday

Time sure flies…    God bless all our children…

julia_eighteen_unicorn

What do you have to paint?

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods – if this describes you, please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process. Our customers from a far are just as important as our local customers – when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY
CAROMAL COLOURS
RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT
BOTANICALS
COTTAGE PAINT
BEAUTIFUL
BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS
 Closed Sundays and Mondays
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday   10am – 5pm
Thursday   10am – 7pm
Saturday 10am – 3pm

If you want to place an order, click on the store button below.

store_fabfinisher_com

3 responses to “At The Fab, Paint Can Top Anything…

  1. I CAN’T stay off your site.  I am either ordering paint or coming back there to take a class which would just be fun, in time.  Have been a faux painter for years, creating beautiful things of anything that can take paint,( boy that’s everything, right?), YOU are the first person I can truly say ‘I LOVE YOUR CREATIVENESS and TASTE and STYLE”……………there are many pretty things in the world, but we all have personal taste that feed our Souls, and yours is it for me (I know thousands of other people too) but I just, and who knows how, just discovered your site, (perhaps a God wink), ’cause He knows what I like!  Sorry for rambling, I am making myself go to your site today to feed my spirit, kind of facing what one does not want to at this particular moment because I am sick that my fabulous antiques just burned up last week in a mysterious 4:30 am storage fire, all my ideas/dreams went up with my new ideas in discovering your site; it is awful but my dogs are safe and I am looking up to see the beauty of your creations and whimsical humor I pick up in your words, love it!!!! So thank you for doing and being who you are,……………..so, (whew) how much is the Dixie chest if you still have it, ?  I like it, then when I saw what you called it, wow,( i’m weird in believing there are “signs”), and many of the antiques were my mother in laws, sweet Dixie, who really knows, maybe she was talking to me, and making me go to your site again because right now, there’s no way I can start any projects, I can DREAM though! Thank you, thank you,   :o) marilyn in magnolia texas         From: Fabulously Finished To: mquapp@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, May 18, 2015 1:42 AM Subject: [New post] At The Fab, Paint Can Top Anything… #yiv5249128708 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5249128708 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5249128708 a.yiv5249128708primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5249128708 a.yiv5249128708primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5249128708 a.yiv5249128708primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5249128708 a.yiv5249128708primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5249128708 WordPress.com | Patty Henning posted: “Love this time of year – the berry sprigs, pine needles, and snow tipped branches packed away, and blooming flowers take their place.  I arranged these pretty stems in a burlap container that I stenciled using our Postage Stamp Stencil and Caromal Colours” | |

  2. Recently, I purchased a home the kitchen cabinets are canary yellow (eew). I want to paint the cabinets SOFT GREY. Do you carry light grey in store? I hope so. Please help, thank you.
    Linda Carlin

  3. Hi Linda, Sorry I just saw this mssg. The easiset paint to use for cabinets is Reclaim. Their only Grey is callled Pewter. Though it is not a soft Grey, It can easily be mixed with Reclaim Off White to get your desired color. We offer sample sizes on line & sell painted wood samples as well.

Leave a Reply

