A Long Weekend, Dedicated To The Place I Call Home…

Weekends  aren’t the same when you own a retail business.   A holiday weekend is no different.

Saturday evening was warm and sunny in Detroit.  I pulled up to our flower-pot-less house, and couldn’t help but notice the other houses around us, all perky with colorful flowers…   some were still out tending to their yards.

colorful-flower-garden

I did purchase 4  coco lined deck planter boxes a couple weekends ago –  my mom always hung planter boxes off her deck and I loved them – and filled them with colorful annuals, but that’s all I’ve done so far.

Yards…. outdoor spaces…  all of their pretty spaces just made me grumble at ours.  Does that ever happen to you?

It’s easy for me to get in a punky mood about our outside space.  The landscaping is new and puny compared to the more mature plantings of our neighbors,  we don’t have a service walk running from the driveway to the back yard, and I miss that.     Our driveway is super short, making it hard to back out and NOT hit any vehicles that are parked in the street…  wait – am I blaming the driveway for hitting my daughter’s boyfriends jeep this weekend?

head

If that’s not bad enough,  the backyard is sprinkled with power boxes.  They aren’t lined up nicely next to the house – no, it’s like they were tossed into the air and where they landed is where they stayed.    Because it makes no sense,  I’ve been unable to wrap my brain around the HOW’s to disguising them…

Needless to say, I let the negative thinking get me down – how could THAT happen, with all the Joyce Meyer I listen to?

imagesii

index

k

Sunday morning after church I felt an urge –  not to plant, but to paint.   Honestly, I feel like God was saying to me

Hey,  why don’t you make that house feel like home?

I decided to tackle the library.   I’ve had 2 frames from Kirklands that I don’t use anymore – they looked kinda like this

121117

and my plan was to use them to display my kids senior photos.  They’ve been propped in the library since last year when my son graduated.  Now, with my daughter in her last week of high school, was a good time to get it done.

Here was my Sunday project – the walls, prior, were builder beige…

metallic_plaster_walls_dark_fabulous_finishes

I combined several colors of metallic plaster that I had on the shelves – Lusterstone Weathered Bronze, Lusterstone Silver Taupe, Lusterstone Ebony and a good bit of Moire Dark Granite, mixed them all together to get a carbon color, and rolled and troweled that onto the walls. The ceiling I whiz rolled with our custom Cottage Paint color Ash.

painted_frames_metallic_plaster_walls

The frames I took apart,  whiz rolled the cardboard matte with Perfect Plaster tinted grey, and then a scraped layer over top.  I dragged Textured Basecoat Peppercorn, Chocolate and Parchment over the frames, and then topped it with a little Botanical Salvia.    I wish I had taken a before and after …

close_up_custom_painted_frame_chalk_clay_texture

Sunday night I was exhausted,  it took me all the way until midnight to get the room back together,  but it felt good to finally get something done.

Monday, I woke up and decided to tackle the kitchen

kitchen before

I didn’t think it would take long, since there wasn’t that much wall space, but I was wrong….  I didn’t get the kitchen put back together until late in the evening…

I’ve said for sometime that I wanted to use Caromal’s Perfect Plaster in my kitchen – I love the simpleness of the finish – I whizz rolled the first coat and scraped on the second coat

first_coat_rolled_perfect_plaster

close_up_perfect_plaster_walls

The simple scraping of that second layer draws up that natural color –

kitchen_closeup_complete_perfect_plaster_wall_finish

kitchen_walls_after_perfect_plaster

I cleaned and packed everything up, then realized I forgot the two ends of our island!   Crap…   I’ll have to finish that this weekend.

DSC_3679

All in all,  I love how it warmed up our space

kitchen_after_perfect_plaster_walls_caromal

Maybe next weekend I’ll add a few flower pots to the front porch 🙂

This is a big week for us – my daughter’s High School Soccer team start their race again for district, regional and the state title.  First game is tonight, and unfortunately I won’t be there due to a sold out Paint A Piece Workshop.    Go IKE!    After this week she is officially out of high school!

I also just received the link to our latest DIY show –  I’ll be posting that soon.

Happy painting!

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods – if this describes you, please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process. Our customers from a far are just as important as our local customers – when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY
CAROMAL COLOURS
RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT
BOTANICALS
COTTAGE PAINT
BEAUTIFUL
BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS
 Closed Sundays and Mondays
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday   10am – 5pm
Thursday   10am – 7pm
Saturday 10am – 3pm

If you want to place an order, click on the store button below.

store_fabfinisher_com

2 responses to “A Long Weekend, Dedicated To The Place I Call Home…

  1. Love, love, all of it! The kids pictures make me want to cry! 😪 Where did the time go? 😘😍

Leave a Reply

