Furniture Painting: Will Shades of Aqua Turquoise Teal Blue Ever Fade?

Can you guess my birthstone?  I’m a March baby…

march birth

Aquamarine it is,  so many variations, shades, grades….


I was never a fan in my younger days, I always wished my birthstone had been an Emerald, or Sapphire….   My 18 year old daughter, on the other hand,  wishes HER birthstone was Aquamarine  – her’s is Emerald and she hates it! 🙂

This past summer when I had more time to create with paint, she suggested (several times) to paint a fade piece in shades of blue.   Finally I took her suggestion with this piece

tall_chest_to_paint_turquoise_fabfinisher

I grabbed these colors – American Paint Company’s Shoreline, Liberty and Spacious Skies, and Botanical Paint Aster, another light aqua

fab_finisher_aqua_turquoises_chalk_clay_apc

aqua_chalk_clay_painted_furniture_fabfinisher

After the first coat I thought an embedded stencil down the front would be pretty-

DSC_4057

I used our Texture Plaster to lay the pattern, and repeated down the drawer fronts

DSC_4058

You can use a small jap trowel, a flat blade, even a plastic gift card to lay the plaster on the stencil, then lift the stencil to reveal your creation.

After the stencil dried I painted one more layer of mixed colors, and when dry I sanded to reveal the pattern.  The drawers were in great condition but too blonde in color – I richened (is that a word?) them up with a mix of a walnut and mahogany stain – and sanded back the top so I could stain it the same way

turquoise_painted_linen_chest_raised_plaster_drawers

To seal up my American Paint chalk clay all natural mineral finish, I used American Paint ‘s Vintage Clear Wax ,

the      O N L Y     WAX    I’ll     use 

love_my_apc_vintage_clear_wax

I painted up the hardware a bit,  so it would blend but still stand out

close_up_turquoise_aqua_raised_plaster_drawers

Was really liking where this piece was going….

chalk_clay_turquoise_aqua-raised_plaster

BUT…….

the top was throwing me….

When that happens, the feeling wont let up until its fixed, so I took the top translucent light using American Paint’s Plymouth Rock and Uncle Sam, painting over that dark top, sanding back to reveal, and sealing up with American Paint’s Topcoat Finish-

fabfinisher_chalk_clay_turquoise

Did you notice the stencil in the drawer?  I stenciled  a small verse in each drawer –

painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay

painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay_fabfinisher painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay2

painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay3

painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay4

painted_turquoise_plaster_stencil_apc_chalk_clay5

apc_chalk_clay_close_up_fabfinisher (2)

The lighter top worked, and indirectly drew to the stencil on the drawers, and the deeper drawers popped on their own –

apc_turquoise_surboard_raised_stencil

fabfinisher_painted_french_chest_aqua_stenciled_Drawer_Fronts

aqua_turq_surboard_apc_painted_chalk_clay

Love love loved….

turquoise_aqua_chest_plaster_stencil_drawers

It sold soon after it hit the floor, and to the loveliest of families 🙂

fabfinisher_turquoise

I missed the splash of turquoise on the floor,  so this one came next, a chest that I received white,  like this

 

DSC_4583

I’m sure I had some kind of plan for this piece, starting it in pastel colors, but once the turquoise pretty sold,  I saw this chest as another that could look good in blues…   I tipped it on its back and started with an all-over plaster stencil on the drawer fronts –

DSC_4651

I painted over the dried stencil with shades of blue – American Paint Peacock, Shoreline, Surfboard and Uncle Sam , and went light with the top – APC Plymouth Rock and Uncle Sam

DSC_4677

The top was a challenge – there was tannin bleed through the white, so I layed a coat of APC Topcoat Sealer to help block the bleed, when it dried I reapplied the whites, and included a little cannonball for depth –

turq_painted_closeup

If you notice above, originally I painted the whole body blue – front, sides, feet… but I wasn’t thrilled with it like I was with the first piece.   This chest was previously painted white – heck, it may have been previously painted MANY times…  it’s finish was not as perfect and pristine as the lingerie chest, so the  blue finish over the existing ‘previously painted’  finish was weathered/shabby looking, not clean and perfect how I wanted.    I didn’t like it, I didn’t WANT this finish to be distressed, aged etc…  but I knew trying to fit a square peg into a round hole would be a frustrating waste of time.  Instead, I played off the piece, and  went a different direction,  silver leafingthe sides, front corners, and feet…

turq_aqua_chest_silver_leaf_plaster_stencil_Drawers

I painted and leafed the hardware, then waxed the finish with a mix of American Paint Vintage Clear Wax, and  Clear Wax mixed with  Black Pigment, Grey Pigment, and  Brass Mica Powder to ‘weather’ the paint finish so it would coordinate more perfectly with the silver leafing touches.

turquoise_aqua_plaster_stencil_chest_swarovski

Pigments and Mica Powders are a great way to create wax colors in any shade and shimmer you desire.  I like to use them in our  Fabulous Clear Glaze as well.  I’m not a fan of floating them in the topcoat, though it can be done.  We stock 12 different Pigment colors and 9 Mica Colors  –turquoise_chalk_clay_leaf_raised_stencil_chest

This one sold soon after it hit the floor, just like its big sister, and my daughter hinted that a quick 2 for 2,  she was deserving of commission for pushing the turquoise idea…

book

Not.    🙂

This was the third, that came soon after the second sold –

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (1)

The top on this one came in pretty raw.   It wasn’t in bad shape, a little beat up, but I needed the color to be darker to start with, so  I used a mix of Reclaim Mocha and Reclaim Licorice, a paint we carry that is usually rolled on, but sometime I use it as a ‘paint stain’ –

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (2)

For this to work and be easy, you don’t want to DAWDLE when you’re brushing it on –  just brush it, with a big wide brush, hit the whole surface

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (3)

then take a dry or slightly damp cotton rag, and wipe it back – you can use another dry brush to soften any application marks, but you’ll find it colors up the worn wood nicely.   We do this a lot for inside drawers , see the difference it makes?   It’s just a quick and easy option, and dries fast

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (8)

The first coat on this piece was mostly American Paint Peacock .  Notice the center medallion pattern that I’m hoping won’t get in the way of my stenciling plan…

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (4)

I used a stencil and our Textured Plaster Neutral and stenciled the whole front –

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (6)

The second coat was a mix of several APC chalk/clay paint colors – Surboard, Shoreline and more Peacock

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (7)

You’d almost think the stencil is gone…

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (11)

I Reclaim washed the bottom and added a stencil for fun

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (10)

I used APC Limoge, Plymouth Rock and some Cottage Paint custom Wonder White to create a lighter top

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (14)

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (15)fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (16)

Silver leafed the sides, and accents

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (17)

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (18)

then went to work sanding and refining the body and top

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (19)

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (21)

fabfinisher_apc_chalk_clay_turquoise_raised_plaster_chest (23)

American Clear Wax, a buffing, and a sprinkling of Swarovskis, and version #3 was rolled out

turquoise_aqua_painted_chestchalk_clay_painted_chest_turquoise_stencil

I dressed the ‘feet’ up with crystal pumps 🙂

silveR_leaf_legs_painted_furnitureI love the details on this piece

aqua_chest_top_washedand…… then it sold.

believe

Awesomeness,  that these pieces are moving fast, but part of what I like about creative refinishing is the not knowing what Ill end up with …  I needed to change up the next piece,   and I did,  using shades of grey (I’ll share the detailers later) –  it isn’t priced yet but is in the showroom –

fabulous_finishes_ombre_grey_chalk_clay_paint_chest

I have the next perfect piece to ‘take blue’, I’ll be starting it soon, but this time it will be a taller, fatter chest.

Time to go bury my head in tax paperwork!

tax

Are you local to the Detroit area and interested in possibly updating your OWN tired furniture?  If so,  come visit us – we’re located at the corner of 23 Mile and Van Dyke in Shelby Township,  48316.    Don’t come Sunday or Monday, because we’re not open, but T,W, F  our hours are 10am-5pm  Thursday 10am-6pm and Saturday 10am-3pm.  During holidays our hours do change, you can find updates on our website.

If you live too far away, that’s ok,  we ship daily,  offering our full lines of paints, sundries and accessories – store.fabfinisher.com.

Our workshops are back in full swing  –  if you’re interested in a paint project, or need to get out for the evening, check out our Workshop Schedule,   register online or stop in and visit.

 

 

 

13 responses to “Furniture Painting: Will Shades of Aqua Turquoise Teal Blue Ever Fade?

  1. I love seeing your work! Thanks for sharing.

  2. They are all gorgeous! Which stencil did you use for the last piece? I have the perfect dresser for it.

  3. Yes please! Wow! I want to paint like you! Its a shame I’m in central Virginia and you are way up there. I’d love to learn your techniques. Such a joy to see your works of art. Thank you for sharing the inspirational pieces. **sigh** never say never right? I could end up visiting your shop.

  4. Do you use a regular stencil, or is it a special kind? On Jan 24, 2016 4:48 PM, “Fabulously Finished” wrote:

    > Patty Henning posted: “Can you guess my birthstone? I’m a March baby… > Aquamarine it is, so many variations, shades, grades…. I was never a fan > in my younger days, I always wished my birthstone had been an Emerald, or > Sapphire…. My 18 year old daughter, on ” >

    • yes, stencils but I always go for heavier mil stencils when I use plaster. We carry a good selection of stencils, and our online store points out if each stencil is thick enough for thick relief, or too thin https://store.fabfinisher.com/product-category/stenciling/stencils-stencils/

      the best type stencil patterns to use are ones that have a repeat pattern, a e repeat is built into the design – with that you can easily move the stencil around and fill in your whole area because its a continuation. I have a picture of one I just started yesterday – (hopefully the link will work and it will attach http://wp.me/anvNG-7NS) it only has one big stencil element , you can see it so far on the drawers – from there I have to stack it, to try to build it’s own ‘allover repeat’ – it’s doable, but this way you might have do do more puzzle piece’ing…

  5. You always have such beautiful ideas! Love them all. I’m saving up for some future classes so I can finally meet my inspiration.
    P.S. I’m a March baby too. March 27th.

  6. how do I get this look and what  colors ?  thanks for any information Kaye Groff

    WordPress.com | Patty Henning posted: “Can you guess my birthstone?  I’m a March baby…Aquamarine it is,  so many variations, shades, grades….I was never a fan in my younger days, I always wished my birthstone had been an Emerald, or Sapphire….   My 18 year old daughter, on ” | |

    • Hi Kaye, There was numerous colors involved as well as mixing & blending. The colors are stated on that post. Hope this helps 🙂

      On Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 6:35 PM, Fabulously Finished wrote:

      >

    • Hi Kaye – just saw your post – the girls help respond to the questions we get, so that we can provide timely responses – if you scroll up to the particular pieces I list the various colors that went into each piece – I’m not one to paint in one color so it can get confusing :0, but if you take , say for the aqua pieces, a group of blues, and use darker tones as the first layer, then lay a raised stencil, then lay a lighter mix of colors over that – you’ll get a cool version of the same – hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

